» About
» 2018 Winner Patrick O'Malley
» 2018 Call for Scores
» 2017 Winner, Saad Haddad
» 2014-2015 Winner, Michael-Gilbertson
» 2013 Winner, Emily Cooley
» 2012 Winner, Roger Zare
» 2011 Winner, Michael-Thomas Foumai


The Sioux City Symphony Orchestra is committed to the education, development, and promotion of young, American composers. The SCSO Composer of the Year competition is designed to annually highlight one (1), highly talented composer who is currently in the early stages of their professional career. The Composer of the Year will receive a $1,000 (one-thousand US dollars) monetary prize, a premiere performance by the Sioux City Symphony, press/media coverage, scheduled lectures at selected local colleges and universities, and involvement in a variety of other community related outreach programs.

© 2015 Sioux City Symphony Orchestra | website hosted by Executive Technologies